Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

Too much to learn?

breakphreak   September 21st, 2010 12:57p.m.

Hey there

I am new to this useful resource, so that any assistance is really welcomed. I am learning Mandarin Chinese with Pimsleur audio tutorials / textbooks. Couldn't find them, so started with anything simple enough.

1. The problem is that when I add a chapter of any textbook then the whole bunch of hieroglyphs appears in my "list". I would strongly prefer to have kinda bounded queue (with adjustable size), so that new items will be added only when I learn enough (and not like 20-40 at once). Is there any way in the current implementation to do that? If no - what am I doing wrong and what can be a workaround?

2. Started to learn a few days ago but the session seemed to be never ending. I've practiced for 30+ minutes and couldn't end the exercise. Why is that and (again) what's wrong in my expectations?

thanks a lot for your answers and help :)

west316   September 21st, 2010 1:09p.m.

Welcome! As for the questions:

1)You can set it to manually jump to the next chapter. On the practice screen, click the active lists button in the upper right had part of the screen. You can set it to manually move to the next section or even manually add words. This gives you complete control over the pace new words are added. Under you language settings you have yet more options as well. It is extremely customizable in that sense.

2)There is no such thing as a predefined session. You just have to decided when you want to stop and stop.

breakphreak   September 21st, 2010 2:13p.m.